Question about energy conservation in MMI noise signals

Hello to everyone!

This is going to be a technical question, and is directed to anybody who has done experiments and has analysed the affect of intent on noise signals and the power spectra of those noise signals.

First, a quick background on myself. I have a PhD in Physics, and my PhD project was centred on modelling and reducing the thermal noise generated by a kind of superconducting detector called a Transition Edge Sensor (these are used in sensitive space imaging telescopes, but also terrestrially in quantum computers, radiation detectors and other things).

I say this so that you can feel free to take some liberties when answering a technical question for my benefit: feel free to assume I have a moderate understanding of Applied Physics, Applied Mathematics, Thermodynamics and Statistics. If I don’t understand something (and I’m sure that will also likely happen), I will ask for further clarification.

But please do not feel overburdened by the idea that you might have to give extensive technical explanations of fundamentals if I am asking a complex question - I don’t want to make such a burden an obstacle to the person answering. If you don’t have the time to elaborate to a wider audience, then please do give the concise answer (for example, do not feel the need to answer the underlying question “what is thermal shot noise?” for my benefit alone - I already know).

My question (which is probably primarily directed to Scott Wilber, although anyone else is welcome to shed some light on this) is as follows:

Has anybody found that the expected noise power spectrum of a thermal signal (which is determined strictly by the temperature of the device and the speed, temperature and design of the measuring circuit) is affected in any way by the higher order statistical deviations caused by intention?